One More Thing

It is what has become, a very typical Monday afternoon.  The dishwasher is churning away, there is laundry in the washer and dryer and I am at the kitchen table, typing away on my laptop.  Our Kiddo is somewhere, giggling, and that can’t be good.  He spent the morning working on his academics and started to watch “Toy Story” yet again.  He had lunch and then decided to go into the basement rec room to play with his new set of giant dominoes.

He has been a pill lately–booby trapping my kitchen cabinets by pulling the contents to the very edge of the shelves so when they are opened, stuff falls out on top of you.  Because of this little “trick”, I had a glass kitchen cabinet door shatter just before Christmas and several of my stoneware bowls and plates have broken as they bounced out of the cabinets.  This seems to amuse him and he giggles and laughs when someone is caught by falling Pfaltzgraff.  “ We” are not amused in the least.

He has given himself several eye infections by, well, you don’t want to know.  Let’s just say I don’t have towels of any sort in the boys’ bathroom or powder room now and wash bath towels on a daily basis.  Add this to the fact we don’t have toilet paper out in the open in any of our bathrooms, and ours is not exactly a “NT-friendly” place to go to the bathroom.

We adapt and try to outfox whatever his latest fixation is.  I am having the powder room and the boys’ bathroom cabinets resurfaced and having permanent child locks put in.  I hope this will put an end to some of his bathroom misbehavior and when they finally come to do the work, have a behavior plan ready to be put in place. He wears a pair of trendy looking blank glasses when it looks like the eye is bothering him and that seems to help with his eye infections.

We have a second refrigerator and a set of panty shelves in the garage to hide food we don’t want him to have, or we don’t want him to eat at one sitting.  It seems like I ration his food, but that is really not the case.  He is now on a special diet for his migraines which no longer allows him certain things the rest of us still want to have.  He will drink a gallon of fruit juice at one sitting or a whole case of soda pop if I don’t watch him.  There will be no juice or pop for anyone else, and that is just not fair.  He enjoys food and eating, and even cooking, but needs to eat everything he likes when he sees it instead of waiting.  I buy things he likes in bulk and hide it until I want him to have it.

He is able to live at home, in a “normal” way, and I am grateful he is able to be with us.  There are times when it seems to me this is such a crazy way to live.  We adapt, we outfox, and we change our lives and our diets for him until I think we can’t do anything more.  There are days when I think I can’t do one more thing to adapt for him—that one more thing will push ME over the edge.  And then………I do one more thing.

Every month is Autism Awareness Month at our house!

 

 

Published by

autismcuppa

Your Autism Cuppa is written by a longtime Autism Mom. A former Autism Society of America local chapter president, she is an educator and artist and has done inclusion consulting work for over 20 years. Married for 36 years to the father of her Three Sons, the eldest having autism, she wants young parents to know they are not alone. Life can be fun!

2 thoughts on “One More Thing”

  1. The graphic at the top of your post reminds me of how I felt when my husband was incapacitated for years due to serious depression. People often told me how strong I was, how they were so impressed with how I coped – “How do you do it?!” I could never quite explain why I hated those comments so much, but your graphic pretty well covers it. I didn’t have a choice. It was my life, and there was nothing else I could do BUT cope.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

