Autism Cuppa

A Bit MIA Because I’ve Been Busy!

My Kiddo’s birthday was February 27, and I posted a bit of a misty, teary blog a few days before.  I wanted to commemorate it with y’all, hopefully showing you that as a parent of an adult with autism, I still have *days*……so that when you have *days* you won’t feel bad and know it’s okay and even normal, or normal-ish, anyway!

I meant to follow up but……I got busy and this is the first time I’ve had any time to do something other than what I am supposed to be doing….and there were a lot of things I was supposed to do too!

I went to the regional, every other year, meeting of my professional society. And of course, the plans and coverage and who’s picking up Kiddo and what days are those again and did I do the grocery shopping before I left (Yes, I did. I told you I did and even wrote it down in the detailed lists I made BEFORE I left) and did I do Kiddo’s laundry and what about the bathroom towels and all the hundreds of details I took care of before I could even get in the car, needed to be taken care of. Whew.

For three days, I felt like a kid, free of responsibilities.  I had some lovely restaurant meals where I didn’t have to worry about anyone’s specialized diet (and it’s not just The Kiddo making me crazy with the diet…The Youngest has decided to keep Kosher…and WE’RE NOT JEWISH!). I talked about my profession with, and about, colleagues.  I didn’t make my bed. I took a long, long  hot shower every morning I was gone with no one asking what I was doing in there for such as long time.  I did text home several times a day. And called at lunch time (to make sure the pick up/switcheroo was made for Kiddo) and after dinner.  I missed the Fellas and I think they missed me. But it was good for all of us for me to get away for a bit.

When I got home, it was the afternoon of Kiddo’s birthday and I bought him a cake…. instead of making a homemade one….no guilt for me for once….and we had Take Out from his favorite Take Out place. We went out to a gourmet burger place for his official birthday dinner the next  day. He got new jeans, a one pound Gummy Bear, a Silly Symphony video, several coloring books and a new Autism Awareness tee-shirt.  He was so happy….and the fried onion loaf at the burger place made us all happy too!

I started my new semester teaching the next week and…here we are now.

I have some Blogging Obligations (B’s Mom….thank you and it’s coming) which I will complete before the week is out……I’m back!

Published by

autismcuppa

Your Autism Cuppa is written by a longtime Autism Mom. A former Autism Society of America local chapter president, she is an educator and artist and has done inclusion consulting work for over 20 years. Married for 36 years to the father of her Three Sons, the eldest having autism, she wants young parents to know they are not alone. Life can be fun!

Leave a Reply

