Autism Cuppa

After Christmas

I have been looking forward to today for weeks….my holiday work obligations are over, as are my holiday entertaining commitments….YIPPEE!

I had to entertain Dec. 23 (Hubby’s office staff), Dec. 24 (our close family and a neighbor with no where else to go), Dec. 25(the In-Laws…or do you say *Out-Laws*?!?!?) and Dec. 26 (my Father and Baby Bro)…..finally, FINALLY , with the Holiday Fa-La-La-ing  over, I am able to Blog and get my house in order.

I may be writing here more ….or not…..but  will have time for a change to write if I am moved. All the while I’ve been cleaning, cooking, Decking the Hall, etc. etc. etc. I have had Blog subjects rolling around in my mind.  Several times, I had wanted to write before I headed off to bed, then sanity prevailed, and off to bed I went. The next morning, I couldn’t remember what so moved me (in my mind) to write about.  Then, repeat, for a few days in a row!

Several of my kitchen cabinets have been *calling to me* to clean them out for months and I will have time (and perhaps) the energy to do one every evening until New Year’s Eve…that should do it to make me feel more organized until Easter or so.  It’s funny how when the kitchen is organized, I feel better! When I feel better, I write more so….so It’s All Good.

For those of you with young children with autism….I want to tell you this was one of the best Christmases ever with Our Kiddo.  He was a lovely Host (or Co-Host) for both sets of Grandparents. When shown his pile of Christmas gifts, he began to open them with glee and even was happy about it.  For many years, getting him to open his own gifts was a chore.  We would make him open them but felt so bad about it we finally would made him open only one gift. Then we started to ask The Middle Boy and The Youngest to open them for him, while he sat next to them….Kiddo had Staff to open his gifts, we used to joke.  Funny how those kinds of things struck us as hilarious at the time.  The Middle Boy and The Youngest liked to open gifts and understood Kiddo needed help, so it worked  until Kiddo Got With The Program.  Years later, we asked TMB and TY if they resented helping Kiddo with his gifts when they were little and they swear they didn’t mind….at least, that’s what they say now. Sigh.

My Baby Bro bought Kiddo a new Lava Lamp to replace the one that got trashed during the Great Snow Globe Disaster (see the previous Blog Post, “Freaking Out in Autism-Land”, for details) and Kiddo was delighted.  He was so delighted, he insisted Hubby set it up in his room RIGHT THEN, before the rest of us finished opening gifts.  Baby Bro was thrilled and all of us had a good laugh about Kiddo wanting things back to *normal* in  his room and his new Lava Lamp was part of it!

More later…hope you all had a wonderful, fun-filled, Happy Christmas. See you soon!

Published by

autismcuppa

Your Autism Cuppa is written by a longtime Autism Mom. A former Autism Society of America local chapter president, she is an educator and artist and has done inclusion consulting work for over 20 years. Married for 36 years to the father of her Three Sons, the eldest having autism, she wants young parents to know they are not alone. Life can be fun!

3 thoughts on “After Christmas”

    1. We almost always go some place for Christmas too, except when we host. It’s a toss up with the Hassle Factor but I do think it’s much better for ALL of us when we host….I wouldn’t mind hosting all the time.

      I hear ya about being the Best Christmas Ever when we don’t have to trek around…..hope the New Year is wonderful for you and DC!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

