Autism Cuppa

Freaking Out in Autism-Land

This has been the busiest ten days of the year for me.  A week ago, my class presented their final projects for the semester and this past Saturday night, I gave a semi-important lecture for a local arts organization (in a blizzard here in the Midwest…..a blog post for another time).  I’ve been working toward my class’s projects (and showing them) since August.  I’ve been working on my lecture notes (and all the fancy Power Point pix for the lecture) since I was hired in mid-August.  But there are always last minute additions and when you practice the lecture text aloud, often you have to change them, right? After my class was finished,  I had Monday and Tuesday to grade the projects and submit grades to the most complicated grade submission program on the planet. I figured I had all of Wednesday to finish the lecture and edit the pix. So I could, ya know, take a breath and relax before I had to pump up my adrenaline for the lecture on Saturday.

Wouldn’t you know there would be Autism Issues…it was totally predictable….in the midst of it all? Now, I have to admit, this was not the Kiddo’s fault AT ALL, it was mine.  But because of his Autism and the OCD component of his Autism, I had to haul my Tuckus into gear to make all right with his world…..Autism-Land….or there would be hell to pay.

On Wednesday morning, I had the bright idea to water all my somewhat neglected house plants. I’ve been busy and just didn’t have time to do my usual plant grooming but, I thought, why not just water ’em and pluck off the dried up leaves? So, Kiddo was at his day program and I watered plants.  Just before he was supposed to arrive home, I decided to go upstairs to my room and water those plants. I  watered my bedroom plants and then tried to close (and lock) my bedroom door…….but it was stuck and I slammed it shut……big mistake!

Some of you might remember I’ve mentioned Kiddo has a collection of about 15 musical snow globes.  We had special shelves built on the wall in his room about ten years ago….and they’ve worked great…up until now.   When I slammed the door (his room is next to ours), four of the globes FELL OFF THE SHELVES AND SHATTERED ALL OVER THE RUG, BROKE TWO OF HIS LAVA LAMPS AND RUINED HIS TV!  As I realized what had just happened, I heard his bus, so I closed his bedroom door and got downstairs to meet it.  He, of course, wanted to take his backpack up to his room and hang it up on his closet door, as always.  But Kiddo hates disruption in his room; I even have to make sure the door is shut when I change his bed linens or he has a hissy fit. I grabbed the backpack, told him to have a clementine (his absolute favorite snack) and ran upstairs to further access the damage.

I can’t even begin to tell you the damage.  The rug was gross and stained…..and there was glitter (or something) all over because these were, you know, snow globes. Something smelled foul and I realized his collection of Troll dolls, right underneath the shelves with the globes, were soaked with whatever rancid water was in the broken globes.  Right around this time, The Youngest came home to check something on his laptop before going back to teach. I asked him to help me move the TV shelf but he told me he didn’t have time to change…..and this would be messy!  So I told him to turn the family room TV to PBS and their children’s programming…..as he and I were talking in the kitchen, The Kiddo went up to his room behind our backs, opened the door……and began screaming….bloodcurdling screams and wouldn’t go in.  The Youngest and I got him downstairs, I made him a multi-course lunch and encouraged him to eat it in front of the TV (we never, ever do that…but needs, must). The Youngest had to go back to work so it took me about 30 minutes to get The Kiddo to calm down.  I decided I had to get ‘er done and not let him see anything until the Clean Up was finished. SIGH!

It took me almost eight hours to clean up the Flippin’ mess, from the time I slammed that lousy door to being able to let him back in.  I picked glass shards out of the carpet with my bare hands.  We tried to move the TV (and took all the books off of the shelf ) and the shelf fell apart. So, The Middle Boy and Hubby went out to Target and got him a new shelf and TV (an LED which is certainly safer than his old tube TV), and I was on my hands and knees cleaning the carpet with my carpet spot cleaner.  I threw the Trolls into the washer (and they came out great, who knew?) and rearranged the books and VHS tapes (he’s learned to use them …….we’ve tried getting him a DVD player….our Kiddo is an old school-technology guy) and put those damn snow globes on a very, very, VERY sturdy shelf on top of another book shelf. The room looks great, the new TV is safer for him and the carpet looks better than it has since the last time we had the carpets cleaned.  Hubby hooked up the new TV to the video/DVD player and things are organized better for him. The Kiddo sauntered into his new and improved room with a big smile on his face.  All was right in Autism-Land. GGGGGGRRRRRR!

We all agree this was a good thing, in the long run. Why the universe conspired to choose the one day I had to do my own stuff to make it happen, I’ll never know.  I was so tired, my eyelids hurt and I sobbed when I went to bed.

In case you were wondering,  I finished the lecture on Thursday afternoon. It went great but I never did get my *relaxing* time as I had wanted. ‘Cause why should anything be different….I’m living in Autism-Land!

Published by

autismcuppa

Your Autism Cuppa is written by a longtime Autism Mom. A former Autism Society of America local chapter president, she is an educator and artist and has done inclusion consulting work for over 20 years. Married for 36 years to the father of her Three Sons, the eldest having autism, she wants young parents to know they are not alone. Life can be fun!

3 thoughts on “Freaking Out in Autism-Land”

Leave a Reply

