Autism Cuppa

Not the Day I Expected

I taught my first class of the semester yesterday evening.  It was GREAT!  I had 11 returning students, two Newbies and felt sooooo good about it. We’ll have a wonderful semester together and I am looking forward to seeing them next week.  All in all, a super beginning.  And then, I went home.

For the past five years, I have had either a respite worker or Hubby stay with Our Kiddo when I teach this class, but since Kiddo’s Bro 2 and Bro 3 have again taken up residence, they are expected to step up and stay with him on Tuesday nights–one of them, I don’t care who–so I can earn some pocket change. When I got home last night, all the Menfolk were home and there was a great Wailing and Gnashing of Teeth by Hubby and the Bros and the Kiddo wasn’t so great either.

The Kiddo had a migraine attack last night and we’re not sure why.  I’ve mentioned before we tried every Autism Diet on the planet but it wasn’t until we put him on this anti-migraine diet that anything made a difference.  Kiddo has…….after a three year quest for what the heck was wrong with him before we got the diagnosis…….. food triggered migraines but also can have them triggered by light or when his seasonal rhinitis (Hay fever)  kicks up.  A great irony is one of the daily allergy meds he was on for YEARS can have cause a side effect in 1% of those taking it of……..wait for it…..headaches….so we took him off of it several years ago and it made a difference in his migraine frequency……so when it’s hay fever time, his untreated allergies can bother him.

For whatever reason, last night was horrible for him and when I got home, Hubby was grim faced because he had to give him the heavy duty (prescribed) pain meds we are reluctant to give.  I don’t know why he was so upset because it takes about 20 minutes (we’ve timed it) for them to kick in and then HE IS FINE.

The Bros were upset because, while I’ve talked to them what happens when Kiddo is having migraines, neither has seen him have as terrible attack as he had last night.  Eventho I’ve been on the phone with them when he has had bad ones or have described them, they have not seen it. Adults with disabilities do not behave the way you or I would to pain….and that’s a subject for another blog post one of these days…….and unless you know they are in pain, it can be upsetting.

Kiddo was still having problems today, so he had his pain meds every four hours, and slept the day away in his darkened bedroom.  I gave him some oatmeal for breakfast, chicken noodle soup (homemade, so I know it is migraine safe) and his favorite frozen chicken patties with pears for dinner. With migraines, it’s important to eat at regular times if you are able to tolerate food. He got up for all the meals, but then went back to bed.  After his dinner, he joined his Dad and Bros in the family room for a baseball game and was able to stay up for a couple of hours before he needed to go to bed.

He should be (mostly) back to normal tomorrow but the day was a bust for me. I was supposed to have a meeting with the parent of a tutoring student, write something for my website gig and mop the floor of my laundry (you don’t want to know but a kid forgot to change a lint trap) room.  I finally took care of the laundry room but I stalled with the parent and am stalling tonight for the website 🙂

The great thing is…….we know it’s migraines and we know how to treat them.  But they are truly a pain in MY patootie!

Published by

autismcuppa

Your Autism Cuppa is written by a longtime Autism Mom. A former Autism Society of America local chapter president, she is an educator and artist and has done inclusion consulting work for over 20 years. Married for 36 years to the father of her Three Sons, the eldest having autism, she wants young parents to know they are not alone. Life can be fun!

5 thoughts on “Not the Day I Expected”

  1. I had to LOL when you said chicken soup – chicken is on my list of intolerances and chicken broth (homemade in particular) will give me a migraine! I wasn’t sure what exactly it was so I had intolerance testing done and that finally cleared up my confusion! Glad you’ve got medication for him that helps. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Crazy thing is, he cannot have poultry skin but can have almost (except for duck and goose) anything else. My Hubby is Italian and Kiddo is not suppose to have aged cheeses BUT does fine with Parmesan and Romano cheeses…go figure! The food triggers are really individual so we do whatever works!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

