Autism Cuppa

As Fall Begins in Earnest

I begin teaching tonight…one class, no biggie…..and then next week almost everything else begins.  My tutoring students start next Monday and then I never know when I’ll get a inclusion consulting call, so my consulting times are built into my life. I’m busy, with writing for my professional society’s website, and the other interests keep on coming.  And of course, My Kiddo is still around.  I haven’t really said anything about adult issues, and won’t, not yet because it’s kinda depressing.  Rest assured, one of these days I will.

This fall, things are a bit different because my other Two Kiddos have flown back into the nest. Son #2–a scientist–has a new gig within a 15 minute commute from the Family Hacienda, so it makes sense he moves back in to save enough money.  Enough money so when he DOES move out, he is out FOR GOOD.  He already knows what those stipulations are….and he does help out with His Big Brother, so….so far, so good.  Son #3 just got his Masters (Son #2 has a M.S.) too and is back here, perhaps for a few years, while he saves to pursue a doctorate. He’s a classical musician, freelances and is an adjunct at a community college.

It’s been weird to have the Whole Gang back together, let me tell you.  And the reason I am vague about almost everything here–except for the actual details of our Autism Journey–is because of Kiddo 2 and Kiddo 3.  When I told them I was going to Blog about our family and about autism, both asked me to not mention our names, exact location or anything that could be Googled and traced back to them. And I have to honor their wishes.

Their lives have always had an autism connection.  Son #2 took his first steps in the waiting room of the clinic where his older brother had private speech therapy.  Son #3 saw Santa the first time at a ASA (Autism Society of America) local chapter holiday party.  I suppose, I’ve always felt a bit guilty THEIR lives were not *normal*.  There were Sib Shops programs and we regularly got together with other autism families with kids their ages so they could play with people who would *get* them. And, when we could, we tried to make sure they felt like their own person. It is for them I am vague because they deserve some privacy.  They are wonderful young men and the Best with their brother but they are not saints.

We begin the fall with a whole new situation here……laundry will be an issue, I can already tell……and I am sure there will be a few hiccups. But I am happy they feel good enough about our home and family to come back when they need to….makes me feel we’ve done something right!

Published by

autismcuppa

Your Autism Cuppa is written by a longtime Autism Mom. A former Autism Society of America local chapter president, she is an educator and artist and has done inclusion consulting work for over 20 years. Married for 36 years to the father of her Three Sons, the eldest having autism, she wants young parents to know they are not alone. Life can be fun!

Leave a Reply

